HomeStourbridge GroupStourbridge BMSGH Parishes

Areas/parishes covered by BMSGH Stourbridge

A brief guide to areas/parishes covered by BMSGH Stourbridge


Amblecote –formerly part of Wollaston (Oldswinford) parish, Worcestershire until 1866 when it became a separate parish in Staffordshire. Now part of Dudley County Borough Council, Staffordshire

Blakedown (see Churchill & Blakedown)

Cakemore (see Halesown)

Careless Green (see Lye)

Churchill & Blakedown – formerly part of Hagley prior to 1933

Colley Gate (see Cradley)

Colman Hill (see Cradley)

Cookley – created 1849 (formerly part of Wolverley ancient parish)

Cradley, inc. Colley Gate, Colman Hill , Netherend, Overend, Two Gates, – created as separate parish 1866. Formerly part of Halesowen ancient parish. Transferred to West Midlands 1974.

Cradley Heath (see Reddall Hill)

Dudley - ancient parishes were part of Worcestershire until 1866, then transferred to Staffordshire until 1974 when it became a Metropolitan Borough within West Midlands

Eve Hill (see Dudley)

Frankley (see Halesowen)

Hagley – ancient parish. West Hagley was formed from part of it in 1909.

Halesowen, and townships of Hasbury, Hawne, Hill & Cakemore, Hasbury, Illey, Lapal, Langley, Lutley, Ridgacre & Warley – ancient parish in Shropshire. Transferred to Worcestershire 1844. In 1974 it became part of Metropolitan Borough of Dudley in West Midlands.

Hasbury (see Halesowen)

Hunnington – formerly part of ancient parish of Halesowen, it became a separate parish in Worcestershire in 1866.

Illey (see Halesowen)

Ismere (see Churchill) – formerly part of Hagley, created as part of new parish of Churchill & Blakedown 1933.

Kateshill – created 1844 from part of Dudley St Thomas ancient parish

Kingsford (see Wolverley)


Langley (see Halesowen) – created 1846. Now part of Sandwell

Lapal (see Halesowen)

Lutley (see Halesowen)

Lye, inc. Stambermill – formerly part of ancient parish of Oldswinford. It became a separate parish in 1866, then transferred to West Midlands 974

Lye Waste (see Lye)

Netherend (see Cradley)

Netherton (see Dudley)

Norton (nr Stourbridge) - separate parish created 1953 from former parts of Oldswinford and Stourbridge St Thomas,.

Oldswinford – ancient parish included Lye, Stourbridge, Upper Swinford, Wollaston & Wollescote.

Overend (see Cradley)

Pedmore – ancient parish, transferred to Dudley Metropolitan Borough, West Midlands.1974.

Reddall Hill – also known as Cradley Heath, created 1844 from Rowley Regis ancient parish.

Stourbridge – formerly part of Oldswinford, it became a separate parish 1866

The Lye (see Lye)

Two Gates (see Cradley)

Upper Arley (also known as Over Arley) – ancient parish, formerly in Staffordshire but transferred to Worcestershire in 1895.

Upper Swinford (see Oldswinford)

Wall Heath

Wannerton (see Churchill)

West Hagley (see Hagley)

Wollaston – formerly part of ancient parish of Oldswinford, it was created a separate parish 1866.

Wollescote – formerly part of ancient parish of Oldswinford it was created a separate parish in 1866. Transferred to West Midlands 1974.

Wolverley – ancient parish inc Blakeshall, Horseley, Kingsford, Little Hobro, Sladd etc.



Member Login

Please register to access all areas of the site. Registration is free and not limited to BMSGH members. As usernames are visible to others in the forums, we suggest you do not use your email address.

For help with registration or logging in click here.

Latest Discussion

  • No posts to display.

Family History Blogs: